top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime-Lee Coffey

Things That Bring Me Joy

Currently it is nearing the end of my summer break and I’ve been getting ready to head back into the classroom. This means that I have been running around getting lessons prepped and doing all the fun things that teachers do when the say goodbye to summer break and dive into the classroom.


But, before that happens I want to share with you some of the things that I have acquired this break that make me happy.



First is my most recent purchase which is this adorable R2D2 coffee plunger. I mean, I already have three perfectly fine plungers but this is R2D2 so it’s a no brainer.


I got this one from EB Games and you can also order one from Think Geek.


I’m an early riser normally but R2 here makes my mornings just a little bit easier. And way more fun.









Next is this brilliant Loungefly Ewok pencil case. (I know that you can see a theme occurring here but the next item isn’t Star Wars related. I promise.)


Again, this wasn’t something that I really needed as I have several pencil cases. I have a serious addiction to stationery...

I am a huge fan of Loungefly and I already own a Star Wars wallet and a Captain America themed bag. Their products, though on the more expensive side, are very high quality and worth every cent.


Edit: Apparently it is labeled as a coin purse/cosmetic bag... oh well, mine is already filled with pens.




Here are two of the many books that I have acquired this break. Chew vol 1 follows a detective with the unusual skill of being able to eat something and know about the history of that item. So he could take a bite of an apple and know where it came from and what sprays may have been used. It is a useful though distasteful (pun intended) skill that comes in handy while working homicide cases...I’ll leave the rest of that up to your imagination.


The second book pictured is The Hate U Give which I haven’t started yet but it’s on my must read list. It follows Starr as she witnesses her friend being shot by a white police officer...a very topical but relevant book that I’ve heard great reviews about.



Finally, a game that I’ve been playing obsessively over the break. Horizon Zero Dawn is, officially, my game of 2017 even though I didn’t start playing it until the start of the break.


Set in a post apocalyptic future where humans now live in primitive tribes and animal like machines roam freely you play as Aloy, a young Nora, who is desperate to find her origins while also trying to save her world from those who are intent on destroying it.


The game play is amazing. I’m currently working on a full review for this game but I 100% recommend it.


So, these are just a few of the things that have brought me joy over the break. What games, books or products have brought you some happiness this year?


All photos taken by me on my iphone. If you couldn’t tell. :)

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page