top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime-Lee Coffey

I'm going to SDCC



The countdown is well and truly on for San Diego Comic Con. My annual pilgrimage from the cold reaches of New Zealand to the warmth of California is soon to begin. In fact, by this time next week I will be in California.


So why do I go to Comic Con? Aside from the fact that I am a huge nerd and a definite fangirl, I love going to SDCC because I find myself surrounded by like minded people. Full disclosure, I hate large crowds. Put me in a room with too many people and my anxiety triples but that does not seem to matter when I’m walking the very crowded floor of the convention centre. Maybe it’s because I’m so caught in the event that I don’t really realise how many people I’m surrounded by. It could even be that I create my own Comic Con persona. Who knows? I’ve only had really positive experiences walking through the crowded rooms, even though I can get frustrated with the slow walkers.


Things that I’m excited for:

  1. New comics. It’s the one time I can really stock up on issues and find new reads. In the past I’ve picked up classics like Saga and Locke & Key while also finding some classics.

  2. The Supernatural panel on Sunday. It’s become a mini tradition for me. I love getting into the line and talking to other like minded people. Also, with the wristband situation, I get a chance to get a little more sleep.

  3. Trying to get to some of the offsite events. The SDCC Unofficial blog has lots of great information about the offsite events. In the past I’ve seen the Game of Thrones experience, Ender’s Game, and more. It’s always exciting.

  4. New geek themed clothing and gear. I love Her Universe and Think Geek always bring some great stuff.

  5. Just wandering the floor, talking to people, and enjoying my time.

Things I’m not so excited for:



  1. The lines... so many lines... (add to that poor hygiene and you’ve got a winner for worst thing)

  2. Not being able to see everything!

  3. The sugar laden food. I recently cut back on all my added sugar and I know that I will probably break at Comic Con.

  4. Making the hard choices due to weight restrictions on the plane...there are always things that I pick up and then put down as I know they’d be too heavy or too awkward to take back with me.

  5. The last day... it starts of great then the sense of tiredness hits you from being on your feet for four days straight. (And then the flight back home...so long...so much jet lag.)


I thoroughly enjoy the con. It can be expensive, loud, and headache inducing but the pros outweigh the cons by a long shot. There is always something new to see and do and I have made some amazing Con friends. (Literally the most amazing people!)


So that’s why I keep going back.


Have you been to a huge con? What is your favourite ‘swag’ that you’ve ever gotten?

Next update will be from the road...

xJaime

P.S. This post was rushed because of school, marking, reports, and packing... my apologies.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page