top of page
  • Writer's pictureDeanna Foster

The YouTube Tutorial Rabbit Hole


I bet you can guess what I've been up to today simply from the title of this post.


I love YouTube tutorials for a couple of reasons. First, I would have a lot less skill with makeup than I do now (although to be honest, I still don't have a lot of skill - see image below). Second, I would not have been able to figure out how to do crochet stitches. Third, silly cat videos.


The makeup thing. Well, my mum never wore much makeup when I was growing up, that I remember. I grew up in the 80s and 90s, and didn't really have reliable internet access til I went to university in 2002. Even then, YouTube wasn't created til 3 years after that in 2005. Showing my age, right? Anyway, my friends weren't really into makeup in high school, and I kind of didn't bother either (except for some regrettable sparkly eyeliner choices). I still don't, very often, even though I own a LOT of makeup. So I never really learned how to use makeup beyond my own poor attempts at experimenting. Now, I have access to any number of tutorials that I can put together to suit my style and face.


I enjoy tutorials by Jeffree Star and NikkieTutorials. NikkieTutorials originated a trend called "The power of makeup", where beauty influencers made up only half their face to show the difference it made. The point was to show that makeup is FUN and that girls are beautiful with and without makeup. These two are very glam and I know I will never be able to emulate any of their looks, but they are also incredibly mermerising and enjoyable to watch. Watching these, I often end up clicking on tutorial after tutorial for hours on end...nothing I will ever be able to do but enjoying the artistry, the creativity, the satire, and the banter.


With crochet, my mum taught me aaaaages ago, but I forgot how because I didn't keep it up. Then in 2014 I got her to teach me again. I got quite into it, and made a lot of beanies, big blankets, baby blankets, slippers, scarves, over 100 poppies, and huntress vests. I even taught crochet as an elective at school. But I would not have been able to do so without being able to look up terms, stitches, patterns, and how-tos on YouTube.


Of course, these aren't the only things I watch. Music, opinions, comedy, drunk cooking, school stuff. YouTube is such an amazing resource.


What kinds of tutorials do you like to watch? Who are your favourite influencers?


Deanna x

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

We Need To Talk About Toxic Fans...

I’m sure you’ve all read that Kelly Marie Tran deleted her instagram this past week and, although not confirmed, the decision was prompted by the amount of abuse that had been sent her way. I’m not he

bottom of page