top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime-Lee Coffey

Spotlight on: Tamora Pierce


Everyone has that one author or book that gets them hooked on fantasy. Maybe it was The Hobbit or Lord of the Rings? Maybe it was Harry Potter or The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe? For me it was Tamora Pierce and The Song of the Lioness Quartet.


If I am honest, I can’t remember when I first stumbled upon her but it must have been some time during my primary school days when we had the Scholastic book club orders. I raced home with my form and begged mum to let me have all the new books. Babysitters Club, Sweet Valley High, Goosebumps, and The Fear St Saga. Somehow I must have also circled a book titled Alanna The First Adventure. It’s a mistake that I am grateful for since it has been a book and series that has resonated with me even as an adult.


For those of you have haven’t heard of Tamora Pierce she is a young adult fantasy writer who has been writing nearly her whole life. She is best known for her Tortall series and The Circle of Magic series. Both centre around pre-teens and teens in fantasy settings. There is normally strange or rare magic, dangerous foes, a spot of romance and a huge amount of action and adventure.


What makes Tamora Pierce’s books stand out is the diversity and depth of the characters, the story lines, and the topics covered. It is this, among other things, that made her stand out to me.



In Alanna the First Adventure we follow Alanna who wants to be a knight. She disguises herself as a boy and follows her heart. It’s not easy and there are times when she almost gives up but she keeps on going. But it’s not just that. Alanna has to deal with puberty, unwanted attention and keeping secrets. Pierce doesn’t shy away from anything like that. There is frank discussion about periods, pregnancy (wanted and unwanted), and sex. It’s never crude rather than matter of fact. This honesty is a constant throughout her books. And it is this honesty that has kept me coming back to them even in my thirties. It helps that a new book has been released.


Her books deal with sexual identity, rape, slavery, racism, and much more. They are topics that are not shied away from and I feel that this kind of realness in her writing really spoke to me as I was growing up. The majority of the books were told from the perspective of strong female characters. Ones who knew there mind but also made mistakes. Girls who grew up to be comfortable in their own skin. Alanna, for instance, is comfortable in armour or dresses. Daine is vulnerable but powerful. It’s the small things like that which mattered a lot to me as a teen.


Tempests and Slaughter is the latest book in the world of Tortall and it follows the adventures of Numair, or Arram Draper as he was known back then, as he trains to become one of the most powerful mages in the world. Those of you who are already familiar with Pierce’s work will recognise Numair from The Immortals quartet onwards. He is Daine’s teacher and eventual partner. I have only just started reading it but the magic of her writing is still there and I’ve already been drawn in.



Her books are easy to read and ones I would recommend to most readers. You can easily identify the inspiration for much of the series but that is part of the joy. And to new readers, well, they are a great introduction to the world of fantasy and world building with new languages, cultures, and ideas presented in an easy fashion.


What books stood out to you as a young reader? What books framed your thinking? Leave a comment below.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

We Need To Talk About Toxic Fans...

I’m sure you’ve all read that Kelly Marie Tran deleted her instagram this past week and, although not confirmed, the decision was prompted by the amount of abuse that had been sent her way. I’m not he

bottom of page