top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime-Lee Coffey

Reading Re Cap

At the start of the year I posted about my top five reads from last year and I listed five books that I really wanted to read this year. I read a lot but I have to force myself to read solely for pleasure since becoming an English Teacher. If the reading challenge was based on essays alone I would have doubled my reading challenge by now... So, although I plow through essay after essay, read article after article and read so many academic texts reading for pleasure is something I have to schedule in. (Very ironic in a sense...)


It’s April and I’m currently on track with my Goodreads challenge. I’m currently reading books nine (Lovecraft Country) and ten (The Blind). Yes I’m one of those strange people who reads more than one book at a time. Don’t even get me started on emergency books and bathroom books...



I’ve knocked off three of the five from my list at the start of the year leaving only The Hate U Give and One of Us is Lying from said list. Both of these I have sitting on my coffee table so I’m really excited for the school break that’s coming up when I can sit down, concentrate, sip coffee and enjoy them.

Also, it's settling into Autumn over here which means cosy sweaters and tea and all that kind of vibe.



Of the books I’ve read so far the ones I’ve really enjoyed have been Annihilation which is vastly different from the film adaptation. I loved the first person narrative and the illogical logic that occured in the novel and am keen to read the other two books that make up the Southern Reach trilogy.


Nevermoor was a fun read that had slight Harry Potter vibes. The concept was refreshing and I enjoyed the characters. Not necessarily the main character although interesting. Much like many of the books I’ve read in recent years, it’s the deuteragonists* that often pique my interest more. Ron, Neville, Luna, and the twins were fascinating. I’d read a book dedicated to them. Same with regards to Finnick and Haymitch. Anyway, going off track.


And Chew which is a graphic novel about a detective who has the ability to sense information and memories from anything he chews on...I really loved the art style and the character development. Again, it was a refreshing concept. Tony Chu has become one of my favourite characters this year. I need to order the next in the series but I’m also trying to save for San Diego Comic Con...


I am always on the lookout for new books so what are you reading? What do you recommend?




*Deuteragonist - second in importance to the main character. I’m an English teacher, what can I say...

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page