top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime-Lee Coffey

New Year New Reads


As a high school English teaching there is no denying that I do a lot of reading. In fact, I do a ridiculous amount, but, it is normally essays or educational reports, professional development readings and so on. So, not really a list for pleasure and nothing super nerdy. (Though I do enjoy reading my students Freudian and Feminist analysis on all sorts of things - one of my favourites from last year was a Freudian reading of Rick and Morty and a Feminist reading of The Company of Wolves by Angela Carter.)


In order to balance that, sometimes, dry reading list I started doing the Good Reads reading challenge about two years ago. For those of you who don’t know about Good Reads, you need to check it out. Basically, it’s a digital bookshelf and a great way to see what others are reading. The first year I aimed for 25 books purely for pleasure and I succeeded. Last year I upped it to 30 and, for this year, I aim to read 35.


I thought I would share my top five reads from last year and list the books I’m most excited to read this coming year.



The Princess Diarist by Carrie Fisher.

This was the first book I read in 2017 and I read it days after learning about Carrie Fisher’s passing. I actually wrote a post on my personal blog about this. Carrie Fisher has a casual way of writing that engaged me from the start. It is basically a small insight to Carrie’s life and her filming of Star Wars. A young Carrie who showed a fierce determination of finding her own voice and identity. Of course I was a little biased because I have been a fan from a young age but I really enjoyed the frankness of her narrative voice. I don’t tend to read a lot of non fiction which is something that I am working on but this was one that I really enjoyed. It is definitely an easy read and was a great read to start the year off. (Even through the occasional tear.)



The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood.

Although this book has been out for a long time and it had been on my reading list for an age I didn’t get around to reading it until this year. I have never been so furious at characters as I have been while reading this book. The oppression that the women felt in this novel almost made me feel ill. Atwood brilliantly weaves a cautionary tale that is still all too relevant in this current day and age. Offred was a fascinating character and the ending left me wanting to know a lot more.





The Girl With All the Gifts by M.R. Carey

The ending on this one. Wow. I haven’t seen the film but the novel was a thrilling read that I picked up while waiting at Rotorua airport. It reminded me a lot of my favourite PS3/4 game The Last of Us as it is all about a fungus making the jump from insects to humans. And, much like the ending of the game, nothing is truly wrapped up. The dynamic between characters was also fascinating. The way they interacted with one another and the raw emotions that they felt was evident.



Meddling Kids by Edgar Cantero

This was my first purchase at San Diego Comic Con and it was a fun purchase. It’s basically Scooby Doo crossed with Lovecraft. The characters were interesting. The plot fun though, on occasion, predictable. It’s the writing style that was interesting as Cantero has a unique style of writing. He jumps from second person to third person etc. It took me a little time to fully engage with it but I really enjoyed it. Plus, the cover was so pretty...


Legend by Marie Lu

This was my last read of the year and it was a fun read. Although it is another of those teen dystopian texts I found it had enough going for it that made it stand out. Sure, there were predictive moments but, overall, I loved the world that Lu has created. Set in a future California we follow two people from different spectrums of society and what they do to survive. There is a huge focus on family throughout the novel which I enjoyed.



And, onto my must read for this year.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

Nevermoor by Jessica Townsend

One of Us is Lying by Karen M McManus


If you have any recommendations I’d love to hear from you. Feel free to follow me on my Goodreads page as well.


xJaime

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page