top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime-Lee Coffey

Dinosaurs and Jurassic World...

Jurassic World Fallen Kingdom is coming out soon and I’m excited. I don’t even care what the plot it ... well, I mean, I know it’s not going to be “high brow” which is fine. Everyone knows what they’re getting into when they go to a Jurassic Park film. The first film is, undoubtedly, the best of the series. It holds up and is entirely quotable. "Clever girl..." Plus, have you seen the amazing Pop Vinyl figures for Dr Ian Malcolm. Just amazing.





Anyone who knows me in real life knows that I love dinosaurs. I have a tattoo of an “origami” stegosaurus on my left arm and want to get one of a pachycephalosaurus though I don’t know where yet. I have dinosaur toys scattered around my house from money boxes to posters and more. Jurassic Park the novel and the film have been solid staples in my favourite categories for the longest time.


Stegasaurus Tattoo


And, prior to studying English and History at University, I was all set to become a palaeontologist. That was my dream job as a child but, other plans appeared, so, although I would have loved to study palaeontology I am happy being a teacher.


Still, dinosaurs still hold my attention. And the upcoming Jurassic World film has me incredibly excited.


There is just something so enjoyable about watching these creatures on the big screen. Of course I know that the size of the velociraptors in incorrect and everything but I truly love the series. Plus, as someone who idolised Mary Anning, it was great to see strong female role models on the big screen. Both Dr Sattler and Lex were great inspirations. Dr Sattler was kind, intelligent, and tough. Lex was tech savvy, and, as a girl who grew up during wave of new tech, it was great to see that represented so early on.


The new film looks set to be a fun ride with familiar faces popping in not to mention plenty of new dinosaurs. I can't wait.


So, are you excited for the new film? Do you have a favourite dinosaur?


XJaime

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page