top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime-Lee Coffey

Buffy The Vampire Slayer

As it’s International Women’s Month I thought it only fitting to talk about one of the most empowering fictional characters from the last twenty plus year...Buffy Summers. Also known as Buffy the Vampire Slayer.


I have been a fan of the character since watching the 90s film with Kristy Swanson and Luke Perry. When the series started I wasn’t able to watch the first season because it was on Channel Four in New Zealand, and where I lived barely got Channel Three but, soon enough, I was watching the series.


I could write several essays on why Buffy the Vampire Slayer is one of the most important television shows from the last twenty years but instead I thought I would list five reasons why this show is so important.


Here there be spoilers - you have been warned.



Reason One - Girl Power

The series was released almost at the height of the girl power revolution in the 90s. We had Spice Girls singing their pop anthems, Meredith Brooks highlighting that she was both a bitch and a lover and then we had blonde, bubbly, brave, Buffy. A teen moving to a new school who just wanted to be left alone who also happens to be the chosen one. The one who could fight against the rising evil. The one with so many witty one liners that I had a book of quips just from this show.


Not to mention the other strong women in the show. Willow, the girl who started off shy and awkward who grew to be a powerful witch, a caring friend, a loving partner, and even had a stint at being the big bad. Anya, former vengeance demon who soon learned what it meant to be human. Cordelia Chase, former materialistic popular girl who actually was more complex that we gave her credit for. I can’t forget Faith either - such a complicated character.



Reason Two - The relationships

Whether it was the Scooby Gang or Buffy and Angel/Spike/Riley etc, the relationships in the show were real. I remember feeling Buffy’s heartbreak over Angel at the end of Season 2. Willow’s crush on Xander and then her loss of Tara. Xander’s failed relationship with Anya. And, most of all, Giles’ relationship as a father figure to Buffy. All of these were incredibly real and they weren’t perfect. There were fights, disagreements and betrayal. Plus, there wasn’t always the promise of a happy ending.


Reason Three - The language

Joss Whedon has become a little controversial in recent years but there is no doubt that he has a way with words. Buffy-speak, as it is known, infiltrated my language very quickly. I mean, it totally gives me the wiggins to think how it impacted my words...




Reason Four - The humour

Even in the face of danger one of the characters always had a witty quip or expression or movement which often helped decrease the tension that had built. There are lines from the show that I still quote even though I’m sure that most people have no clue what I’m talking about...


Reason Five - The social awareness

The show was not afraid to tackle some major social issues. Everything from suicide, gender equality, bullying, divorce, abandonment and death. There are several episodes I can name that brought me to tears. ‘The Body’, ‘Earshot’, and ‘Normal Again’ to name a few. Buffy the Vampire Slayer highlighted many issues that were not often spoken about.


Overall, this show framed much of the late teens and early twenties. I learned so many things about life (and how to deal with the supernatural) from this show. It inspired me and still does. Like I said, I could write several essays but for now I leave you with this list.





Do you have a favourite episode or character? Leave me a comment letting me know.


XJaime


Images: Gif from Gfycats source

Season Three promotional image from TV Series Finale

Oz Gif from Fanpop source

Buffy images from vox.com source



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page