top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime-Lee Coffey

Boo Year Horror Viewing

Updated: Jan 24, 2018

I'd apologise for the pun but I'd be lying. I love a good...bad...pun.


Horror films are one of my many loves. I’ve seen good ones (It, The Hills Have Eyes, The Exorcist, Get Out). I’ve seen bad ones (Troll 2, House of Wax remake, Jaws 3). And I’ve seen ones so bad they’re good (Ghost Ship, Zombeavers, Bad Milo). I enjoy horror films even if I’m the only one in the cinema - which happens to me a lot...how strange?


2017 was actually a good year for horror with Andy Muschietti’s version of Stephen King’s It, Jordan Peele’s brilliant Get Out, and Daniel Espinosa’s Life to name a few.


2018 is also shaping up to be a great year for horror films so, without further ado, here is my list of the definite must see horrors of 2018.


A Quiet Place

Not much is known about the plot of this film but the trailer looks brilliant. Emily Blunt and John Kransinski star as a couple with two children in the middle of nowhere. There are paths that you must walk on, places you can't go, and, most importantly, you must not make a sound. The trailer is highly effective and doesn’t appear to give too much away.

Trailer: Paramount Pictures via YouTube

Mom and Dad

I just saw the trailer for this one the other day and it, wait for it, stars Nicholas Cage doing his best berserk, off the wall, Cage. It seems as if parents have had it with their children and are attacking them at random. It looks like a lot of fun, more comedy than straight horror, but definitely worth a watch.

Trailer: Momentum Pictures via YouTube

Annihilation

I just finished reading the novel (which was on my top five reads for this year so I’m doing well.) The film stars Natalie Portman, Gina Rodriguez, Jennifer Jason Leigh and Tessa Thompson. It follows a team of women who are tasked to go into a strange zone where things are not quite what they seem. I’m really excited to see this film, not only for the strong female leads, but because I enjoyed the book and I’m interested to see their take on it.

Trailer: Paramount Pictures via YouTube

Winchester

One of my obsessions when I was little was reading all about the Winchester mystery house and the legends that surround it. The legend is that Sarah Winchester was told that she must build a house for the ghosts of those killed by the Winchester rifles etc. The caveat, the house must be continuously under renovation, always being built. You can actually visit the house. Anyway, there is a film coming out this year that is based around the mystery of Sarah Winchester and her house, which means I’m definitely going to see it. Also, if you like this kind of thing check out Stephen King’s mini series Rose Red.

Trailer: CBS Films via YouTube

Day of the Dead: Bloodline

This is a remake of George A Romero’s film and follows a group of survivors, military and civilian, as they try to survive in an underground bunker in a world overrun by zombies. I love a good zombie flick and Romero is arguably the father of the modern zombie film. I was saddened to hear of his passing last year but I’m glad that his legacy will live on in zombie films.

Trailer: Millennium Media via YouTube

Bonus - New Mutants - which, sadly, has had it’s release date pushed back to 2019 due to a possible clash at the box office with the new Merc with a Mouth film...(Deadpool 2). The film follows young mutants who are in an institution where strange things are happening...some scary strange things. As Anna mentioned her her post about films she wants to see this year - mutants and horror - what a winning combination.


Trailer: 20th Century Fox via YouTube


So, what is your favourite horror film of all time? Which ones are you looking forward to this year?

xJaime

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page