top of page
  • Writer's pictureDeanna Foster

Amigurumi and the Cutest Geekery Ever


Amigurumi - 編みぐるみ or あみぐるみ - is the entirely too cute Japanese art of knitting

or crocheting stuffed creatures.


So what do Geeks do when they are also super crafty? Make adorable geeky amigurumi of course!


We geeky hookers are prolific! Here are the pinterest searches for Amigurumi Geek and Nerd to give you some idea of the kinds of things that are being made.





I’ve given amigurumi a go - I mostly make Octopi for prem babies, but I’ve also made a delightful Cthulu. It’s not my favourite art because the work can be very small, detailed, and intricate, but it’s definitely something I want to try more of in the future. Because honestly, who doesn’t want their very own Porg?


If you’re interested in this cute craft, I recommend following @GeekyHooker on Facebook, Instagram, and their blog. If you’re at all craftily inclined, give it a go! There are plenty of tutorials on YouTube and you might even find a knitting and crochet group in your area to help you learn.


Pokemon from 53stitches.tumblr.com

Appa from thebhivecreations.com

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page