top of page
  • Writer's pictureDeanna Foster

Currently Crocheting

Despite Facebook’s recent issues, one thing I do love is the groups aspect. I am a member of several fiber and crochet groups, as well as geek, book, education, and bujo groups. It’s nice and social, with lots of people who are interested in the same things you are able to share ideas, thoughts, resources, and projects.


This is how I came to be doing my current crochet project. Every so often, someone will set up a “crochet along” or CAL. In the Heart Hook Home group recently, Ashlea designed and held a CAL for the Elizabeth Cardigan - so named for the mini-bean or “elizabeth stitch” that makes it up. Thousands of women (and some men) around the world all worked on creating this cardigan for themselves at the same time. The beauty of it is that whenever someone was having issues or needed motivation, there were a bunch of people all doing the same thing ready to pitch in.


The pattern is simple, straightforward, and really well explained. There are even video tutorials for visual learners, and the end product looks so comfy and casual.


I… well. I started late and with the wrong sized hook. So while most people have finished their projects, I am about ⅓ of the way through. Maybe less. Ok I have a front panel and an arm hole done… I will get there though. It’s been a lifesaver project during dull meetings and in between parent teacher interviews at work.

The arrow shows where the armhole is

I’m using Caron Cakes in CakePop, so even though the stripes look impressive, they’re really not. I love this yarn and these colours. I’ve already made a cap sleeve sweater for my sister from it, as well as cardigans for my wee nieces.


Crochet is such a good creative outlet because the motions are repetitive and rhythmic, and you end up making something cool and functional.


So what are you working on at the moment? What projects do you want to get done?


Deanna x

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page