top of page
  • Writer's pictureDeanna Foster

Baby's First Con


Today I went to Armageddon Expo. There was some pretty cool cosplay, and it was fun walking around working out who everyone was meant to be - a young Dr Strange, Belle, several Sailor Scouts, Dr Doom, Poison Ivy, Naruto, the Joker, Snorlax, and some Stormtroopers to name a few. I also caught a small part of John Shea's panel, which was pretty cool. The last thing I think I remember seeing him in was Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman back in the 90s where he played Lex Luthor. Although he was also in Gossip Girl and other things since then. Other guests included actors from Arrow, Supergirl, and Lucifer, as well as Game of Thrones and animation guests. Cool if you’re huge fans of those shows.


The book I bought

This was my first con experience, and since there weren't any panels or celebrities I particularly wanted to see, it turned out to be not much more than a particularly unique shopping trip. I saw a lot of cool things for sale, like hand crafted chain mail - there was an incredibly beautiful neck piece on display. There were only three authors that I saw, and I bought one book and had it autographed. I also got a super cute lapel pin from JublyUmph






My philosophy with a lot of things is start small and build up. If today's experience at ASB Stadium was anything to go by, I am glad I did. The space got crowded really quickly and I am not a fan of a lot of people closing in around me. Having said that, I'd be keen to see what a bigger con was like. Jaime, who also writes on here, has been going to San Diego Comic Con every year for the last several years. While I’m not quite ready to go there (her stories of sitting in lines for nine hours horrify me), Auckland Armageddon or an Australian one might be fun to visit.


What has your experience with cons been? It was cool to be surrounded by like-minded nerds!

Deanna x


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page