top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime-Lee Coffey

Podcasts - Educational Ear Candy

I often go on long walks early in the mornings, especially over the weekend when I wake early. For the longest time I would listen to music but I found that I would end up skipping songs or would start dancing. Of course there’s nothing wrong with that but it would normally happen just as a car loaded with students or parents of students would drive past.


Recently, however, I’ve started to listen to podcasts when I go for walks. (And while I take a bath but that’s a different kind of post.). Some are rather short so I can listen to two or three episodes on an hour long walk and others can take a couple of days to listen to fully. The main thing is that they are entertaining.


For those who might not have heard of podcasts they’re basically a form of downloadable talk radio. They can cover a range of topics from motivational talks, film reviews, true crime, paranormal stuff, and the list goes on. Some can be very educational and others...well others can help with creativity. Basically, there’s a podcast for everyone though you might have to listen through a few to find one that’s favourable to your ears.


My first podcast that I listened to (and still haven’t fully caught up on) is Welcome to Night Vale which is an almost nonsensical, highly whimsical podcast about a fictional town where the strangest of strange things happen. Creators Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor have created a vast fictional landscape that is told through the soothing voice of an unnamed radio host. (Honestly, the voice is so easy to listen to.) There are dog parks where dogs aren’t allowed, angels, unknown horrors, floating bathroom cats and much, much more. It’s one that I will eventually catch up on and I’d love to see performed live. (They have travelled to perform their series). I’ve also read one of the books that the series has spawned.


Image Source

Another favourite of mine is Aaron Mahnke’s Lore. Weaving stories with researched fact, Mahnke has attempted to explain some of the many “unexplained” or mysterious occurrences that have happened around the world. Folklore mixed with historical evidence that tries to explain haunted hotels and tunnels, fairies, vampires, werewolves and other such oddities that are scattered across our history. Mahnke’s tone is very soothing to listen to and he delivers his evidence with ease.




I also binged through two seasons of Small Town Horror which is another fictional podcast about Ryan Jennings and his quest to uncover what happened to him when he was a teen and to find out the truth of all the strange events that have plagued him and the small town of Crayton. It’s got an interesting premise and the voice acting is superb. I found myself pausing on my walks as I tried to focus on everything that was happening. There’s nothing like creepy children’s voices to motivate you...


And, moving away from the more horror focused podcasts (if you hadn’t noticed that trend) I’ve just started listening to The Valleycast. The Valleycast is a conversational podcast hosted by comedians Steve Zaragoza, Elliott Morgan, Lee Newton, and Joe Bereta - all former hosts of Sourcefed and all hilarious people in their own right. It is coupled with their YouTube channel - The Valleyfolk. I became a fan of all four of these talented people after watching them on Sourcefed. Each of them have such a fun energy and are truly talented people. I’m half way through their first podcast and am highly entertained by their witty banter.


Anyway, that’s just some of the podcasts that I am enjoying at the moment. There are thousands more for you to search through. Do you have any that you’d recommend? I’d love to listen to more of a range so if you think there is one that I should be listening to drop me a comment below.


Until next time

Jaime

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page